Myofascial Cupping Technique

January 28, 2021 - 3 minutes read

12pdps

The Myofascial Cupping Technique was developed by David Sheehan in 2002. It involves the gliding of negatively pressurised cups over the body with the assistance of massage cream and can be accompanied by joint mobilisation. It is a very different technique to traditional cupping and importantly, marking the skin is NOT part of the desired treatment outcome. It also should be performed at a pressure level that is almost painless to the client.

How is it different to other massage techniques?

Unlike all other massage techniques that use compression, the Myofascial Cupping Technique is unique in that it ‘lifts and separates’ soft tissue, known as negative or tensional pressure. This in turn can increase nutrient-rich blood supply to the tissue, while giving a gentle passive stretch to the underlying soft tissue.

Benefits from the Myofascial Cupping Technique

The Myofascial Cupping Technique can provide profound benefits, particularly with assisting the body in maintaining Range Of Motion, eliminating Myofascial Trigger Points and reducing restrictive and sometimes painful fascial adhesions commonly found from repetitive movement originating from sports and the workplace. By reducing fascial adhesions, while encouraging optimal hydration levels of soft tissue, the Myofascial Cupping TechniqueTM can assist in reducing the incidence of injury and maintaining functional soft tissue.

About the founder of the Myofascial Cupping Technique

David Sheehan has a Bachelor of Applied Science (Human Movement), Diploma of Health Science (Remedial Massage) and Diploma of Education. His career highlights include working as a lead sports trainer with various football clubs, which included the use of vacuum cupping for both prevention of and treatment for injuries.

Over time, David has developed these skills and now teaches his own energy efficient and effective cupping techniques to massage therapists and physiotherapists in Australia, New Zealand, Canada and the United States, including physiotherapists and remedial therapists at the Australian Institute of Sport (AIS).

Workshop dates and further course info: https://comphs.com.au/product/myofascial-cupping-technique-level-1/

Perth (Australia) 

Monday 15 March & Tuesday 16 March 2021

Vivacious Living Centre – 9 Riseley St, Ardross WA

Gold Coast (Australia)

Saturday 20 March & Sunday 21 March 2021

Firm n Fold HQ – 18 Leda Drive, Burleigh Heads QLD

Gold Coast (Australia)

Saturday 27 March & Sunday 28 March 2021

Firm n Fold HQ – 18 Leda Drive, Burleigh Heads QLD

Melbourne (Australia)

Saturday 17 April & Sunday 18 April 2021

Mantra Bell City – 215 Bell Street, Preston VIC

Adelaide (Australia)

Saturday 1 May & Sunday 2 May 2021

Mawson Lakes Hotel and Function Centre – 10 Main Street, Mawson Lakes SA

Sydney (Australia) 

Saturday 5 June & Sunday 6 June 2021

The Centre – 14 Frances St, Randwick NSW

Hobart (Australia) 

Saturday 19 June & Sunday 20 June 2021

Hobart North Uniting Church – 2 Swan Street, North Hobart

Gold Coast (Australia) 

Saturday 10 July & Sunday 11 July 2021

Firm n Fold HQ – 18 Leda Drive, Burleigh Heads QLD

Perth (Australia) 

Saturday 17 July & Sunday 18 July 2021

Vivacious Living Centre – 9 Riseley St, Ardross WA